Frank Zappa - Chunga's Revenge (180g Vinyl LP)

Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
California customers: Please click here for
your Proposition 65 warning.
Frank Zappa - Chunga's Revenge (180g Vinyl LP)

Frank Zappa - Chunga's Revenge (180g Vinyl LP)


Available for the First Time In Three Decades: 180g Audiophile Vinyl Pressing Specially Mastered by Bernie Grundman with All Analog Production and Cut Directly from the Original 1970 Analog Master Tapes

Frank Zappa's stylistically diverse and subversive 1970 album Chunga's Revenge returns to vinyl for the first time in three decades. Coming hot on the heels of the reissue of the enigmatic Burnt Weeny Sandwich, Chunga's Revenge receives the 180g audiophile vinyl treatment as the latest installment in the Zappa Family Trust and UMe's ongoing initiative to restore the iconoclastic musician's catalogue. The new edition has been specially mastered for this release by Bernie Grundman with all analog production and cut directly from the original 1970 analog master tapes. The last vinyl pressing of Chunga's Revenge was in 1986 for Zappa's rare Old Masters Box Two on his own Barking Pumpkin Records. The LP, pressed at Pallas in Germany, includes meticulously reproduced original artwork.

Chunga's Revenge was one of three albums that the highly prolific composer released in 1970, following Burnt Weeny Sandwich and Weasels Ripped My Flesh. Although released under Frank Zappa's own name, the album is most notable for introducing a new Mothers lineup that included the Phlorescent Leech (Flo) & Eddie, the pseudonyms for former Turtles members Howard Kaylan and Mark Volman who performed under the aliases due to contractual restrictions. The reconfigured lineup included bassist Jeff Simmons, keyboardist and trombonist George Duke, drummer Aynsley Dunbar and multi-instrumentalist Ian Underwood.

Derived from various sessions during that year, the record ebbs and flows between instrumental and vocal tracks and as noted by Zappa on the original sleeve, "All the vocals in this album are a preview of the story from 200 Motels," his acclaimed film and soundtrack released the following year. 
From the funky guitar workout of opener "Transylvania Boogie" to the bluesy send-up "Road Ladies" to the jazzy "Twenty Small Cigars," a standout recorded during the Hot Rats sessions, Chunga's Revenge is an eclectic affair that sees the ever-restless Zappa and his adroit band traipse through a variety of genres with aplomb.

  1. Transylvania Boogie
  2. Road Ladies
  3. Twenty Small Cigars
  4. The Nancy & Mary Music
  5. Tell Me You Love Me
  6. Would You Go All The Way?
  7. Chunga's Revenge
  8. The Clap
  9. Rudy Wants To Buy Yez A Drink
  10. Sharleena
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct