Frank Zappa - Freak Out! (180G Vinyl 2LP)

Price $37.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Frank Zappa - Freak Out! (180G Vinyl 2LP)

Frank Zappa - Freak Out! (180G Vinyl 2LP)

Price $37.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed
Frank Zappa Freak Out! on 180g 2LP

2013 Reissue of the Original 1966 Stereo Mix

Cut at Bernie Grundman Mastering by Chris Bellman & Pressed at Furnace

Back home where it belongs, the music of Frank Zappa is now back in the hands of the Zappa Family Trust. To celebrate this, the estate has signed a global license and distribution deal with Universal Music Enterprises to release 60 of the iconic composer's recordings. The UME deal includes the entire Zappa Catalog as it appeared on Frank Zappa's own independent label, Barking Pumpkin Records. Many of the original analog masters have been re-mastered for this occasion.

“The artist and composer, Frank Zappa, is one of the most important and influential artists in music history with his prolific body of work, including his breakthrough rock ‘n roll concept albums. We are honored that Gail Zappa and the Zappa Family Trust have entrusted us with his legacy. We intend to honor him and bring high quality releases, digital and physical, for his new and longtime fans,” said Bruce Resnikoff, President/CEO, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe).

Originally issued on Verve Records in June of 1966, Freak Out! is the debut album by The Mothers of Invention led by mastermind Frank Zappa. Produced by Tom Wilson, Freak Out! is cited as one of rock music's first concept albums, first double albums, and first double album debuts, centered around Zappa's satirical view of American popular culture. The album was honored with a Grammy Hall of Fame Award in 1999.

"A master guitarist and provocateur, Frank Zappa made more than 60 albums, but the first was perhaps the most groundbreaking. The double disc declared the arrival of a visionary weirdo who dabbled in doo-wop, pop-song parody, protest tunes, art rock and avant-garde classical." - #246 on Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time

The Mothers of Invention:
Frank Zappa: Leader and musical director
Ray Collins: Lead vocalist, harmonica, tambourine, finger cymbals, bobby pin & tweezers 
Jim Black: Drums (also sings in some foreign language) 
Roy Estrada: Bass & guitarron; boy soprano 
Elliot Ingber: Alternate lead & rhythm guitar with clear white light

Frank Zappa Freak Out! Track Listing:

1.  Hungry Freaks, Daddy 
2.  I Ain't Got No Heart 
3.  Who Are The Brain Police? 
4.  Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder 
5.  Motherly Love 
6.  How Could I Be Such A Fool 
7.  Wowie Zowie 
8.  You Didn't Try To Call Me 
9.  Any Way The Wind Blows 
10. I'm Not Satisfied 
11. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here 

1.  Trouble Every Day 
2.  Help, I'm A Rock 
3.  It Can't Happen Here 
4.  The Return Of The Son Of Monster Magnet
1. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
2. I Ain't Got No Heart
3. Who Are The Brain Police?
4. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder
5. Motherly Love
6. How Could I Be Such A Fool
7. Wowie Zowie
8. You Didn't Try To Call Me
9. Any Way The Wind Blows
10. I'm Not Satisfied
11. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here

1. Trouble Every Day
2. Help, I'm A Rock
3. It Can't Happen Here
4. The Return Of The Son Of Monster Magnet
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought