Freddie Hubbard - Ready For Freddie: Blue Note Classic Vinyl (180g Vinyl LP) * * *

Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
California customers: Please click here for
your Proposition 65 warning.
Freddie Hubbard - Ready For Freddie: Blue Note Classic Vinyl (180g Vinyl LP) * * *

Freddie Hubbard - Ready For Freddie: Blue Note Classic Vinyl (180g Vinyl LP) * * *


Blue Note Classic Vinyl Reissue Series All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP Mastered by Kevin Gray Directly from the Original Master Tapes and Manufactured at Optimal in Germany

Blue Note Records is pleased to present the Blue Note Classic Vinyl Reissue Series, a continuation of their acclaimed Blue Note 80 Vinyl Reissue Series which was launched in celebration of the label's 80th anniversary in 2019. The Classic Series will once again feature all-analog 180g vinyl pressings in standard packaging that are mastered by Kevin Gray directly from the original master tapes and manufactured at Optimal in Germany. The first 16 titles of the Classic Series will focus on the enduring classics of the Blue Note catalog. The Classic Series will be on-going, running alongside the Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series which is produced by Joe Harley.

The Indianapolis-born trumpeter Freddie Hubbard introduced his prodigious talent on Blue Note Records with a run of remarkable albums recorded thru the early 1960s. At first rooted firmly in hard bop, Hubbard began to broaden his approach on his masterwork Ready for Freddie, recorded in August 1961. "The way in which I'm most interested in going is Coltrane-like," Hubbard told liner note writer Nat Hentoff. Hubbard had recorded with Coltrane earlier in the year on the saxophonist's Atlantic album Olé Coltrane and Africa/Brass for Impulse. Hubbard further explained, "I mean different ways of playing the changes so that you get a wider play of colors."

To paint with those colors Hubbard assembled a band that included three musicians from Coltrane's orbit: bassist Art Davis, pianist McCoy Tyner, and drummer Elvin Jones. The date also marked the first collaboration between Hubbard and Wayne Shorter, a startlingly original saxophonist and Hubbard's soon-to-be bandmate in The Jazz Messengers when the trumpeter replaced Lee Morgan in Art Blakey's flagship band later that year on seminal Blue Note albums including Mosaic and Buhaina's Delight. Rounding out the unique sextet on Ready for Freddie is Bernard McKinney on euphonium, a mellow-toned brass instrument that enhanced the ensemble's tonal palette.

The album opens with Hubbard's sprightly tune "Arietis," a nod to his astrological sign Aries, before down-shifting into the sublime ballad "Weaver of Dreams," a stunning performance by Hubbard where both his brilliant tone and awe-inspiring technical command of his horn are on full display. Following Shorter's jaunty tune "Marie Antoinette," the band pays homage to Charlie Parker with Hubbard's fleet-footed tune "Birdlike." The album comes to a close with the expansive and explosive "Crisis," a Hubbard original that sought to capture some of the simmering tensions of the early-1960s.

Freddie Hubbard, trumpet
Wayne Shorter, saxophone
Art Davis, bass
McCoy Tyner, piano
Elvin Jones, drums
Bernard McKinney, euphonium

• Blue Note Classic Vinyl Reissue Series
• All analog 180g vinyl LP
• Mastered by Kevin Gray directly from the original master tapes
• Manufactured at Optimal in Germany
• Standard packaging

  1. Arietis
  2. Weaver Of Dreams
  3. Marie Antoinette
  4. Birdlike
  5. Crisis
Related Videos
Attention To Detail: Creating an Audiophile Masterpiece With Blue Note Records’ Joe Harley
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct