Herbie Hancock - Man-Child (180G Import Vinyl LP)

Price $41.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Herbie Hancock - Man-Child (180G Import Vinyl LP)

Herbie Hancock - Man-Child (180G Import Vinyl LP)

Price $41.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed
Herbie Hancock Man-Child on 180g Import LP from Speakers Corner

After his early avant-garde years with Blue Note Records, Herbie Hancock achieved much success with pop music fans by gradually turning towards a mixture of Afro-American styles in which he combined soul, jazz and funk. Having composed the soundtrack to Bill Cosby’s animated children’s show Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids and released a popular family-orientated album entitled Fat Albert Rotunda, Hancock stated that instead of looking for jazz musicians who could play funky music, he had searched for funk musicians with a feeling for jazz. 

That this concept functions only too well is demonstrated in the funky album Man-Child, which features such brilliant jazz musicians as Wayne Shorter, Bennie Maupin and Ernie Watts. But wait! There’s no narcissistic showing off here as in a jam session. The whole band performs as one, playing concentrated grooves around Hancock’s carefully intertwined electronic sounds. The result is a fast-paced funky style, due to the collective efforts of the band, although each member is given ample opportunity to show off his prowess in short solo interludes and thus delight the listener with his unique style.

- Herbie Hancock (keyboards)
- Bud Brisbois (trumpet)
- Garnett Brown (trombone)
- Dick Hyde (tuba)
- Wayne Shorter (soprano saxophone)
- Bennie Maupin (saxophone)
- Jim Horn (saxophone, flute)
- Stevie Wonder (harmonica)
- David T. Walker (guitar)
- Wah Wah Watson (guitar, voice bag, synthesizer)
- Henry Davis (bass)
- James Gadson (drums)
- Bill Summers (perussion)

Herbie Hancock Man-Child Track Listing:

1.  Hang Up Your Hang Ups
2.  Sun Touch
3.  The Traito
4.  Bubbles
5.  Steppin’ In It
6.  Heartbeat
1. Hang Up Your Hang Ups
2. Sun Touch
3. The Traito
4. Bubbles
5. Steppin’ In It
6. Heartbeat
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought