John Coltrane - 1963: New Directions (Vinyl 5LP Box Set) * * *

Price $149.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
John Coltrane - 1963: New Directions (Vinyl 5LP Box Set) * * *

John Coltrane - 1963: New Directions (Vinyl 5LP Box Set) * * *

Price $149.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

A Key Year In the Jazz Master's History Is Marked By A New 5LP Impulse! Collection!

Jazz icon John Coltrane has his 1963 masters collected in the 5LP box set entitled 1963: New Directions. The new Impulse! collection features material from Trane's recordings during that year from the albums Both Directions at Once: The Lost Album, John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman, Dear Old Stockholm, Newport ‘63 and Live at Birdland. 1963 came to be regarded as a point of transition between his previous jazz masterpieces and the genre-expanding music he went on to create.

The recently-released Both Directions at Once: The Lost Album was recorded by Coltrane's Classic Quartet on March 6, 1963. The following day, they went on to record standards with the American jazz singer and ballad specialist Johnny Hartman, for the John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman album, which went on to great success.

Coltrane was the most relentlessly exploratory musician in jazz history. His musical and spiritual journeys were intertwined and took him to places far beyond the reaches of any musician before, during or after his time on the planet. Trane's tonal and textural approaches on the tenor saxophone, his rhythmically complex soloing along with his signature modal melodic and harmonic compositional structures influenced generations of musicians across multiple genres (jazz, rock, avant-garde, experimental).


1. Untitled Original 11383 (Take 1)
2. Nature Boy
3. Untitled Original 11386 (Take 1) 
4. Vilia (Take 3) 
5. Impressions (Take 3) 
6. Slow Blues 
7. One Up, One Down (Take 1) 
8. Vilia (Take 5) 
9. Impressions (Take 1) 
10. Impressions (Take 2) 
11. Impressions (Take 4) 
12. Untitled Original 11386 (Take 2) 
13. Untitled Original 11386 (Take 5) 
14. One Up, One Down (Take 5) 

1. They Say It's Wonderful - John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman
2. Dedicated to You
3. My One and Only Love 
4. Lush Life 
5. You Are Too Beautiful 
6. Autumn Serenade 

1. Dear Old Stockholm
2. After the Rain 

1. I Want to Talk About You - Newport
2. My Favorite Things 
3. Impressions 

1. Afro Blue - Birdland
2. I Want to Talk About You 
3. The Promise 
4. Alabama 
5. Your Lady 
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought