Milt Jackson - Ballads and Blues (180g Import Vinyl LP)

Price $41.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Milt Jackson - Ballads and Blues (180g Import Vinyl LP)

Milt Jackson - Ballads and Blues (180g Import Vinyl LP)

Price $41.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

180g Vinyl LP Reissue Remastered Using Pure Analogue Components Only from the Master Tapes Through to the Cutting Head

Whenever Milt Jackson could free himself from the 'bondage' of the Modern Jazz Quartet and its assertive leader John Lewis, he dedicated himself to his two great passions: ballads and the blues. That was precisely the case when he entered the famous Rudy van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, New Jersey in 1956 to record this excellent Nesuhi Ertegun-produced collection.

He was free to choose his sidemen, and money was no object, which is why various formations gathered in the studio for the three recording sessions. With Lucky Thompson on the tenor sax (unfortunately for only three numbers), Barry Galbraith, Barney Kessel or Skeeter Best on the guitar, Oscar Pettiford or Percy Heath on the bass, together with Kenny Clarke or Lawrence Marable on the drums, he set off on a journey through the history of jazz. And Lewis stayed unobtrusively in the background, offering Bags plenty of opportunities to glory in soloistic freedom. The themes were soon found: the musical composers Cole Porter, Irving Berlin and Jerome Kern, as well as a work from The Duke Ellington Songbook, formed a basis upon which all the musicians could perform with confidence. Three compositions by Milt himself proved that he too was full of imagination.

If you don't possess this LP – or maybe none by
Milt Jackson –  here is as good an opportunity as any to remedy this shortcoming. This Speakers Corner 180g vinyl LP reissue was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head.

Milt Jackson, vibraphone
Lucky Thompson, tenor saxophone
John Lewis, piano
Barney Kessel / Barry Galbraith / Skeeter Best, guitar
Oscar Pettiford / Percy Heath, bass
Kenny Clarke / Lawrence Marable, drums

  1. So In Love
  2. These Foolish Things
  3. Solitude
  4. The Song Is Ended
  5. They Didn't Believe Me
  6. How High The Moon
  7. Gerry's Blues
  8. Hello
  9. Bright Blues
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought