The Living Word :Wattstax 2- Various Artists (Vinyl 2LP) * * *

Price $29.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
The Living Word :Wattstax 2- Various Artists (Vinyl 2LP) * * *

The Living Word :Wattstax 2- Various Artists (Vinyl 2LP) * * *

Price $29.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

50th Anniversary Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Reissue Cut from the Original Tapes by Chris Muth

In the summer of 1972, Stax Records had an idea that was larger than life. Stax's co-owner, Al Bell, had wanted to expand the soul label's West Coast presence and develop its Stax Films arm. The ideal way to do both was to stage the biggest soul concert in history – termed by one former staff member "the black Woodstock" – right in the center of South Central Los Angeles, a vast portion of which had been destroyed by fire in the Watts Riots. The concert, called Wattstax, proved a crowning moment for Stax as 112,000 people united at the Los Angeles Coliseum in a spirit of joy, pride and celebration. The resultant movie was a blockbuster and plays to this date in many music film festivals. To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic Wattstax event, Craft Recordings reissues the original soundtrack album Wattstax: The Living Word and its sequel, The Living Word: Wattstax 2 on gatefold vinyl 2LP cut from the original tapes by Chris Muth. The second installment features performances by The Emotions, Johnnie Taylor, Kim Weston, Isaac Hayes and more.

  • Vinyl 2LP from Craft Recordings
  • 50th Anniversary of the iconic Wattstax even
  • Highlights from the Wattstax events at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum and the Summit Club
  • Cut from the original tapes by Chris Muth
  • Gatefold packaging
Read More

1. Jessie Jackson – Introduction
2. Kim Weston – Lift Every Voice and Sing
3. The Rance Allen Group – Lying on the Truth
4. Jimmy Jones – Someone Greater Than You And I
5. The Golden 13 – Old Time Religion
6. The Emotions – Peace Be Still
7. Richard Pryor – Saturday Night
8. Richard Pryor – Blue Note
9. Richard Pryor – Back Room
10. David Porter Show – Introduction
11. David Porter Show – Ain’t That Loving You (For More Reasons Than One)
12. David Porter Show – Can’t See You When I Want To
13. David Porter Show – Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hand)
14. David Porter Show – Finale
15. Richard Pryor – Arrest
16. Richard Pryor – Line Up

1. Johnnie Taylor Show – Introduction
2. Johnnie Taylor Show – Steal Away
3. Johnnie Taylor Show – Stop Doggin’ Me
4. Johnnie Taylor Show – Jody’s Got Your Girl and Gone
5. Little Milton – Walking the Back Streets and Crying
6. Richard Pryor – Niggers
7. The Emotions – Group Introduction
8. The Emotions – So I Can Love You
9. The Emotions – Show Me How
10. Richard Pryor – Negroes
11. The Dramatics – Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get
12. Richard Pryor – Handshake
13. Mel & Tim – I May Not Be What You Want
14. Richard Pryor – Wino Get a Job
15. Isaac Hayes – Rolling Down a Mountainside

Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought