Violent Femmes - Why Do Birds Sing? (Vinyl LP)

Price $25.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Violent Femmes - Why Do Birds Sing? (Vinyl LP)

Violent Femmes - Why Do Birds Sing? (Vinyl LP)

Price $25.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

30th Anniversary Vinyl LP Reissue with Remastered Audio!

Craft Recordings celebrates the 30th anniversary of the Violent Femmes' Why Do Birds Sing? with a new vinyl LP reissue of the bestselling album from the folk-punk pioneers featuring freshly remastered favorites like "American Music" and the band's inspired cover of Culture Club's "Do You Really Want to Hurt Me."

As the band recorded Why Do Birds Sing? with producer Michael Beinhorn – a former member of the pioneering group Material who went on to helm albums by the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Soundgarden, and Soul Asylum - they found themselves returning to their classic Violent Femmes-era sound, particularly with songs like "Out The Window" and "Look Like That." They also revisited several compositions from their earliest days, including "Girl Trouble," "Life is a Scream," and "Flamingo Baby." Additionally, upon Beinhorn's urging, the band chose to record an unlikely cover: Culture Club's 1982 hit, "Do You Really Want to Hurt Me." "We took it as a challenge," says Gordon Gano, who reworked the majority of the lyrics, making the song sound like a Violent Femmes original. Brian Ritchie adds, "It was an experiment that turned out really fact, we bumped into Boy George once in a hotel bar and he told us, ‘That is the best cover of any of our songs anyone's ever done.'"

Why Do Birds Sing? also included one of the group's most commercially successful singles, "American Music," which hit No. 2 on Billboard's Modern Rock chart and has since become an essential song at shows. Based on a vintage-inspired shuffle, the track stands out in the Violent Femmes' catalog. "‘American Music' communicates a lot," notes Ritchie. "But the arrangement has a lot of very interesting touches, and we thought it was a good production of a great song that encapsulated a lot of music history in one track, so that's why it led off the album."

Released in the spring of 1991, Why Do Birds Sing? pushed the Violent Femmes into their highest level of mainstream success – nearly a decade into their career. It also marks the trio's final album to feature their original line-up, before drummer Victor DeLorenzo departed the group.

• 30th anniversary vinyl LP reissue from Craft Recordings
• Remastered audio
• Featuring hit single "American Music" and inspired cover of Culture Club's "Do You Really Want to Hurt Me"

  1. American Music
  2. Out The Window
  3. Look Like That
  4. Do You Really Want To Hurt Me
  5. Hey Nonny Nonny
  6. Used To Be
  7. Girl Trouble
  8. He Likes Me
  9. Life is a Scream
  10. Flamingo Baby
  11. Lack of Knowledge
  12. More Money Tonight
  13. I'm Free
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought