FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Woodstock: Back to the Garden: 50th Anniversary - Various Artists (180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Woodstock: Back to the Garden: 50th Anniversary - Various Artists

(180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set) * * *

Woodstock: Back to the Garden: 50th Anniversary - Various Artists (Vinyl 5LP Box Set) * * * LDW52277

Woodstock: Back to the Garden: 50th Anniversary - Various Artists

(180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set) * * *

Availability:In Stock (5)
Add to Cart
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (5)
Item: LDW52277

50th Anniversary 180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set Documenting 42 of the Finest Performances Recorded at the Landmark 1969 Festival!

Summer 2019 marks the 50th anniversary of Woodstock, the defining event of a generation and one of the most iconic moments in popular music history. Between August 15-18, 1969, more than 400,000 people converged on Max Yasgur's 600-acre dairy farm in upstate New York for Woodstock. Thirty-two acts performed including some of the most popular and influential musicians of the era such as Joan Baez, Richie Havens, The Band, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Grateful Dead, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Jefferson Airplane, Santana, Sly & the Family Stone, The Who, Joe Cocker, Country Joe McDonald, Canned Heat and Blood, Sweat & Tears.

The 180g vinyl 5LP box set, Woodstock - Back to the Garden: 50th Anniversary Collection features 42 of the finest performances recorded at the legendary festival! As the cliché goes: If you can remember the 1960s, you weren't there. Back To The Garden provides a way for people who weren't there to remember them. And for anyone who was there, perhaps this will jog their memory.

The time-consuming challenge of reconstructing the concert audio began with locating the more than 60 multi-track reels recorded by Eddie Kramer and Lee Osborne, as well as the 100 or so soundboard reels recorded by the onstage crew. Sorting through those tapes – some of which had been edited, mislabeled or lost – and then reassembling them properly was a process that, in some cases, took years to complete. Producer Andy Zax, sound producer Brian Kehew and mastering engineer Dave Schultz avoided interfering with the tapes as much as possible in order to preserve their authenticity. Throughout Back To The Garden, you'll also hear the cavalcade of stage announcements made by stage manager John Morris and lighting director Chip Monck, who were drafted as emcees for the festival because no one hired one. You can hear them between songs making announcements about everything from lost keys to warnings about "flat blue acid."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Handsome Johnny (2019 Mix) - By Richie Havens
  2. Freedom (Motherless Child) [2019 Mix] - By Richie Havens
  3. "Everybody's ground getting comfortable?" (2019 Mix) - By John Morris
  4. Reason To Believe (2019 Mix) - By Tim Hardin
  5. "It's deadly serious, man" (2019 Mix) - By John Morris
  6. Coming Into Los Angeles (2019 Mix) - By Arlo Guthrie
  7. "Lotta freaks!" (2019 Mix) - By Arlo Guthrie
  8. Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man (with Jeffrey Shurtleff) [2019 Mix] - By Joan Baez
  9. "Please come down" (2019 Mix) - By Chip Monck
  10. The "Fish" Cheer/I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag (2019 Mix) - By Country Joe McDonald
  11. Jingo (2019 Mix) - By Santana
  12. Soul Sacrifice (2019 Mix) - By Santana
  1. "Helen Savage, please call your father" (2019 Mix) - By Chip Monck
  2. Darling Be Home Soon (2019 Mix) - By John Sebastian
  3. "It's not poison!" (2019 Mix) - By Wavy Gravy
  4. Going Up The Country (2019 Mix) - By Canned Heat
  5. On The Road Again (2019 Mix) - By Canned Heat
  6. "Country common sense" (2019 Mix) - By Chip Monck, Country Joe McDonald, Ken Babbs
  7. Dark Star (2019 Mix) - By Grateful Dead
  1. "We've got the keys to your house" (2019 Mix) - By John Morris
  2. Bad Moon Rising (2019 Mix) - By Creedence Clearwater Revival
  3. I Put a Spell On You (2019 Mix) - By Creedence Clearwater Revival
  4. Kozmic Blues (2019 Mix) - By Janis Joplin
  5. Piece Of My Heart (2019 Mix) - By Janis Joplin
  6. Medley: Dance To The Music / Music Lover / I Want To Take You Higher (2019 Mix) - By Sly & The Family Stone
  1. We're Not Gonna Take It (2019 Mix) - By The Who
  2. My Generation (2019 Mix) - By The Who
  3. Somebody To Love (2019 Mix) - By Jefferson Airplane
  4. Volunteers (2019 Mix) - By Jefferson Airplane
  5. "We must be in Heaven, man!" (2019 Mix) - By Wavy Gravy
  6. "I think you people have proven something to the world" (2019 Mix) - By Max Yasgur
  7. With A Little Help From My Friends (2019 Mix) - By Joe Cocker
  8. "Looks like we're gonna get a little bit of rain" (2019 Mix) - By John Morris
  9. I'm Going Home (2019 Mix) - By Ten Years After
  1. The Weight (2019 Mix) - By The Band
  2. Spinning Wheel (2019 Mix) - By Blood, Sweat & Tears
  3. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes (2019 Mix) - By Crosby, Stills & Nash
  4. Sea Of Madness (2019 Mix) - By Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
  5. Wooden Ships (2019 Mix) - By Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
  6. Love March (2019 Mix) - By The Butterfield Blues Band
  7. At The Hop (2019 Mix) - By Sha Na Na
  8. "It's been a delight seeing you" (2019 Mix) - By Chip Monck

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More