Nels Cline - Lovers (Vinyl 2LP)

Price $37.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Nels Cline - Lovers (Vinyl 2LP)

Nels Cline - Lovers (Vinyl 2LP)

Price $37.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

In 2016 Nels Cline made his Blue Note debut with Lovers, an expansive double-album that the guitarist had dreamed of making for over 25 years. Inspired by the likes of Bill Evans, Jim Hall, Gil Evans, Johnny Mandel, Henry Mancini and others, Cline finally realized his ambitious "mood music" project with an ensemble of 23 stellar musicians conducted and arranged by Michael Leonhart. Lovers was produced by David Breskin and recorded and mixed by Ron Saint Germain.

"I have been dreaming about, planning, and re-working my rather obsessive idea of this record for well over twenty-five years, and it was always going to be called Lovers," says Cline. "It is meant to be as personal in its sound and in its song selection as it is universal in its endeavor to assay or map the parameters of ‘mood' as it once pertained, and currently pertains, to the peculiar and powerful connection between sound/song and intimacy/romance. In this, I hope Lovers offers something of an update of the ‘mood music' idea and ideal, while celebrating and challenging our iconic notion of romance."

The material on Lovers is wide-ranging; the album's 18 tracks include Cline's striking originals as well as Great American Songbook standards and songs by Sonic Youth, Arto Lindsay, Jimmy Giuffre and others.

  1. Introduction / Diaphanous
  2. Glad To Be Unhappy
  3. Beautiful Love
  4. Hairpin & Hatbox
  5. Cry, Want
  6. Lady Gabor
  7. The Bed We Made
  8. You Noticed
  9. Secret Love
  10. I Have Dreamed
  1. Why Was I Born?
  2. Invitation
  3. It Only Has To Happen Once
  4. The Night Porter / Max, Mon Amour
  5. Snare, Girl
  6. So Hard It Hurts / Touching
  7. The Search For Cat
  8. The Bond
Related Videos
Attention To Detail: Creating an Audiophile Masterpiece With Blue Note Records’ Joe Harley
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought