FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Optical Disc > Grieg - Sibelius - Finlandia - Mackerras - London Symphony Orchestra (Hybrid SACD)
Click to Enlarge

Grieg - Sibelius - Finlandia - Mackerras - London Symphony Orchestra

(Hybrid SACD)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (9)
Item: CAPSA2336

Grieg - Sibelius - Finlandia - Mackerras - London Proms Symphony on Hybrid Stereo SACD

RCA/Decca Living Stereo Reissue Series featuring 12 RCA Europe Titles on Both 33 1/3 200g LP & Hybrid Stereo SACD!

Coming on the heels of Analogue Productions' recently announced Decca Classical SACD series of 9 famed iconic classical titles, these 12 RCA Europe titles are some of the most sought-after by collectors. Hard-to-find original mint condition pressings fetch premium prices. And now they're getting the much-lauded Analogue Productions reissue treatment! AP has remastered these historic recordings from the original master tapes. The majority of the titles were remastered by renowned European mastering engineer Willem Makkee.

Charles Mackerras leads the London Proms Symphony for this recording of compositional music by Grieg and Sibelius. An early classic for Decca/RCA engineered by none other than Kenneth Wilkinson, who became so closely identified with the Decca sound that he retired when PolyGram acquired the company in 1980. The strings here are cool, crisp and extremely transparent with wonderful inner detail within the choirs.

Jean Sibelius / Edvard Grieg, composer
Charles Mackerras, conductor
London Proms Symphony

• Hybrid Stereo SACD
• Mastered by Willem Makkee
• Super Audio CD layer
• CD layer
• Also available on 33 1/3 200g vinyl

Related Articles

1. Wedding Day At Troldhaugen, Op. 65, No. 6
2. King Christian II, Op. 27 Suite For Orchestra - Elégie
3. King Christian II, Op. 27 Suite For Orchestra - Musette
4. Pelleas Et Melisande, Op. 46 Suite For Orchestra - No. 7: Entr'acte
5. Two Melodies, Op. 63, No. 2 - Cow-Keeper's Tune; Country Dance
6. Finlandia, Op. 26, No. 7
7. Valse Triste From "Kuolema," Op. 44
8. Two Elegiac Melodies, Op. 34 - Heart Wounds
9. Two Elegiac Melodies, Op. 34 - The Last Spring

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.