FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Miles Davis - Jazz Track (180G Mono Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Miles Davis - Jazz Track

(180G Mono Vinyl LP)

Miles Davis - Jazz Track (180g Mono Vinyl LP) LDD0810

Miles Davis - Jazz Track

(180G Mono Vinyl LP)

Availability:In Stock (8)
Add to Cart
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (8)
Item: LDD0810

Miles Davis Jazz Track on Numbered 180g Mono LP from Legacy

Relatively Unknown Album Features Three Tracks Recorded by Kind of Blue Sextet in 1958: Excellent-Sounding Mono LP

Remainder of Record Comprised of 10 Improvised Tracks Davis Made in 1957 With European Musicians for the Film Soundtrack to French Director Louis Malle's Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud

Relatively unknown even by diehard Miles Davis fans, Jazz Track combines ten improvised cuts the trumpeter made in 1957 with European musicians in Paris
for director Louis Malle’s film Ascenseur Pour L’Echafaud (Elevator To the Gallows) along with three compositions (the original “Fran-Dance,” and the standards, “On Green Dolphin Street” and “Stella by Starlight”) recorded by Davis' sextet in 1958 in New York. Featuring Davis, John Coltrane, Cannonball Adderley, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers, and Jimmy Cobb, the latter are the only other studio recordings the group made prior to the Kind Of Blue sessions in ’59.

The two underrated sessions are collected here on one superior-sounding mono LP. The quintet's work for Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud emerged after the bandleader gave the musicians rough harmonic sequences from which they took off without any prepared plans as edited loops of the film sequences projected in the background. Meanwhile, the three highlights from the sextet's session on May 26, 1958 (Davis' 32nd birthday) with Columbia staff producer Cal Lampley represent crucial music history as they preceded the creation of what remains the biggest-selling, most recognized album in jazz.

Hearing everything unfold in mono, and in analog, on this engrossing LP is an unexpected and welcome gift no jazz lover should be without.

Miles Davis Jazz Track Track Listing:

1.  Générique 
2.  L'Assassinat De Carala
3.  Sur L'Autoroute
4.  Julien Dans L'Ascenseur 
5.  Florence Sur Les Champs-Élysées
6.  Dîner Au Motel
7.  Évasion De Julien
8.  Visite Du Vigile 
9.  Au Bar Du Petit Bac 
10. Chez Le Photographe Du Motel
11. On Green Dolphin Street 
12. Fran-Dance 
13. Stella By Starlight 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Générique
2. L'Assassinat De Carala
3. Sur L'Autoroute
4. Julien Dans L'Ascenseur
5. Florence Sur Les Champs-Élysées
6. Dîner Au Motel
7. Évasion De Julien
8. Visite Du Vigile
9. Au Bar Du Petit Bac
10. Chez Le Photographe Du Motel
11. On Green Dolphin Street
12. Fran-Dance
13. Stella By Starlight

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More