FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Big Star - Live at Lafayette's Music Room, Memphis, TN (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Big Star - Live at Lafayette's Music Room, Memphis, TN

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDB12817

It is well known that Big Star played a one-off promotional show for the Memphis Rock Writer's Convention at Lafayette's Music Room in Memphis in May of 1973. It cemented them into legendary status due to the writers who witnessed it and carried the message of Big Star out in their writing, even though the band had only released one album, #1 Record, and were unsure of recording a second after the departure of co-founder Chris Bell. What may not be so widely known is that the trio played the same venue four months earlier with the same power and passion opening shows for the Houston R&B band, Archie Bell & The Drells.

First issued as Disc 4 of the Grammy Award-winning Keep An Eye On The Sky boxed set, Live At Lafayette's Music Room sees new light as a stand-alone release, available on double LP. The performance has never sounded better thanks to new mastering and restoration from the Grammy-winning engineer, Michael Graves with supervision from fellow Grammy-winning producer, Cheryl Pawelski. The 20-track set features material from their debut, #1 Record, songs that would appear on the (not yet recorded) follow-up, Radio City, and choice covers from The Kinks, Todd Rundgren, The Flying Burrito Brothers, and T-Rex.

As an added bonus, all formats include a download of a previously unissued 1972 interview with Alex Chilton and Andy Hummel from the summer of 1971 with Jon Scott on FM 100. Packaging features new liner notes from Bud Scoppa, who was friends with the band, and in attendance at the 1973 Rock Writer's show. His most recent work for Omnivore was an integral part of the acclaimed Big Star boxed set Complete Third. Experience the only known document of Big Star at this pivotal point in their short, but massively influential career!

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. When My Baby's Beside Me
  2. My Life Is Right
  3. She's A Mover
  4. Way Out West
  5. The Ballad Of El Goodo
  6. In The Street
  7. Back Of A Car
  8. Thirteen
  9. The India Song
  10. Try Again
  1. Watch The Sunrise
  2. Don't Lie To Me
  3. Hot Burrito #2
  4. I Got Kinda Lost
  5. Baby Strange
  6. Slut
  7. There Was A Light
  8. ST 100/6
  9. Come On Now
  10. O My Soul

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.