FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Ralph Towner - Solstice (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Ralph Towner - Solstice

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDT11141

Solstice, recorded in 1974, belongs to the great early production projects of ECM, with a new band formed in the studio. It's the first of Ralph Towner's recorded encounters with the European players, and this US-Norwegian-German quartet has a character all its own. Ralph's synthesis of classical guitar technique and jazz improvisational skills inspires all participants on now-famous tunes including "Nimbus" and "Oceanus." Down Beat: "Solstice inspires through its expressive openness...revealing depth of texture, nuance and meaning." Perfect Sound Forever: "The LP is not only one of the moodiest ever published by ECM, but by anyone."

Ralph Towner - 12-String Guitar, Classical Guitar, Piano
Jan Garbarek - Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute
Eberhard Weber - Bass, Cello
Jon Christensen - Drums, Percussion

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Oceanus
  2. Visitation
  3. Drifting Petals
  4. Nimbus
  5. Winter of Solace
  6. Piscean Dance
  7. Red And Black
  8. Sand

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.