FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Bill Evans Trio - Sunday At The Village Vanguard/Waltz For Debby (180g Import Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Bill Evans Trio - Sunday At The Village Vanguard/Waltz For Debby

(180g Import Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LIE64458

Bill Evans Trio Sunday At The Village Vanguard/Waltz For Debby on 180g Import 2LP

Few albums in the history of contemporary American music can be more deserving than Sunday At The Village Vanguard of the designation of being a true classic. It's the first of two Riverside albums derived from the legendary final appearance of the first Bill Evans Trio - taped during the last day of a Village Vanguard engagement, barely ten days before the tragic death of bassist Scott LaFaro. The recordings have long been recognized as capturing the essence of the unique three-way interaction that characterized the trio; the album is further distinguished by its emphasis on the solo work and compositions of the innovative LaFaro.

Waltz for Debby is the fourth and final album by the Bill Evans Trio, a unit that redefined the notion of the piano trio. Recorded (like its companion volume Sunday at the Village Vanguard) just days before the accident that took bassist Scott LaFaro's life, it summarizes the level of creative interaction that made the famous trio a harbinger of jazz possibilities in the coming decades. Evans, LaFaro, and Paul Motian play with astounding freedom in these performances, maintaining all the while a keen balance and a pervasive sense of beauty. The flow of tempos and moods underscores the depth of the trio's concept, casting a spell that remains undimmed over half a century later.

Vinyl Passion presents a double shot of the extremely influential Bill Evans Trio's career milestones Sunday At The Village Vanguard and Waltz For Debby in one 2LP package!

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

LP1 - Sunday At The Village Vanguard
1. Gloria's Step
2. My Man's Gone Now
3. Solar
4. Alice In Wonderland
5. All Of You
6. Jade Visions
6. O Morro
7. Meditation
8. The Girl From Ipanema
9. Agua De Beber
10. Chega De Saudade
11. Corcovado
12. Favela

LP2 - Waltz For Debby
1. My Foolish Heart
2. Waltz For Debby
3. Detour Ahead
4. My Romance
5. Some Other Time
6. Milestones

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.