FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Johnny Cash - American IV: The Man Comes Around (180G Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Johnny Cash - American IV: The Man Comes Around

(180G Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (14)
Item: LDC6386

Johnny Cash American IV: The Man Comes Around on 180g 2LP

Cut from the Original Masters Under the Strict Supervision of Rick Rubin and Pressed at QRP Record Pressing Plant on Virgin Vinyl

You Can Expect these Award-Winning Albums to Sound Incredible

Although he began his career as an outlaw to the Nashville establishment, Johnny Cash has come to literally define and embody country music. At first, his unique mix of hillbilly music with gospel and blues made him a perfect fit at Sam Phillips' Sun Records, where he recorded such classics as "Folsom Prison Blues" and "I Walk The Line." 

From there, Johnny signed with Columbia records and embarked on one of the most remarkable musical careers of the twentieth century. Transforming into The Man In Black, Johnny spent more than thirty years reinventing and contradicting himself - breaking all of the rules of traditional country music only to emerge as the ultimate mythic hero and archetype of the genre.

No other artist has touched the world of music quite like Johnny Cash. He is the only person to be inducted into the Country Music Hall Of Fame, The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame and The Songwriter's Hall Of Fame. His very name is synonymous with the fight for the rights of the poor and downtrodden and the image of "The Man In Black" is as deeply American as the stars and stripes themselves. 

2002's The Man Comes Around is the fourth in a series of excellent collaborations between Johnny Cash and producer Rick Rubin and the last released before his death in 2003. The series began with 1994’s critically-acclaimed American Recordings, followed by American II: Unchained (1996) and American III: Solitary Man (2000), each of which yielded Cash a Grammy Award.

The Man Comes Around includes new Cash compositions like the title track and revisits of older material such as "Give My Love To Rose" and "Tear Stained Letter" as well as a diverse array of cover songs including Nine Inch Nails’ "Hurt," Depeche Mode's "Personal Jesus," Simon & Garfunkel’s "Bridge Over Troubled Water" with Fiona Apple, the Eagles "Desperado" with Don Henley, and Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" with Nick Cave.

The Man Comes Around also continued Cash's Grammy winning streak, taking home awards for Best Country Male Vocal Performance for "Give My Love To Rose" and Best Short Form Video for the moving music video for "Hurt." 

Johnny Cash American IV: The Man Comes Around Track Listing:

1.  The Man Comes Around 
2.  Hurt 
3.  Give My Love To Rose 
4.  Bridge Over Troubled Water feat. Fiona Apple 
5.  I Hung My Head
6.  First Time Ever I Saw Your Face 
7.  Personal Jesus 

1.  In My Life
2.  Sam Hall
3.  Danny Boy
4.  Desperado feat. Don Henley
5.  I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry feat. Nick Cave
6.  Tear Stained Letter
7.  Streets of Laredo
8.  We’ll Meet Again 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The Man Comes Around
2. Hurt
3. Give My Love To Rose
4. Bridge Over Troubled Water feat. Fiona Apple
5. I Hung My Head
6. First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
7. Personal Jesus

1. In My Life

2. Sam Hall

3. Danny Boy

4. Desperado feat. Don Henley
5. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry feat. Nick Cave

6. Tear Stained Letter
7. Streets of Laredo

8. We’ll Meet Again

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.