FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Sharon Jones And The Dap Kings - I Learned The Hard Way (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Sharon Jones And The Dap Kings - I Learned The Hard Way

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDJ9160

Sharon Jones And The Dap Kings I Learned The Hard Way On Vinyl LP

Leaders of Retro Soul Movement Return with Best Album Yet

I Learned The Hard Way Already Garnering Rave Reviews 

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings are already well known as one of the most exciting acts in the nation for both their explosive live shows and their prolific output of gritty studio recordings. I Learned The Hard Way is their fourth full-length release on Brooklyn's independent Daptone Records and marks a bold step forward for a band that almost single handedly stewarded today's return of soul music to its more traditional sound.

And there's no arguing the fact that the band remains leaders of the contemporary soul scene. From the involved arrangements to the vulnerable emotions and realized energy, everything you could possibly want is here, and how. Jones' blue-collar background--she's worked prison security and at an armored car company in between music gigs to pay the bills--give her instant street credibility and perspective that comes out in her truthful singing. This band is no boardroom creation or tabloid sensation, and I Learned the Hard Way is the real deal.

Produced by Bosco Mann and recorded on an Ampex eight-track tape machine by Gabriel Roth in Daptone Records' House of Soul studios, the record drips with a warmth and spontaneity rarely found since the golden days of Muscle Shoals and Stax. Jones' raw power, rhythmic swagger, moaning soulfulness, and melodic command set her firmly alongside Tina Turner, James Brown, Mavis Staples, and Aretha as a fixture in the canon of soul music. From the lush Philly-Soul fanfare that ushers in "The Game Gets Old" at the top of the record, to the stripped-down Sam Cooke-style "Mama Don't Like My Man" at the tail, the Dap-Kings groove seamlessly through both the most crafted and simple arrangements with subtlety and discipline. I Learned the Hard Way is the "Daptone Sound" at its finest.

"Moving from the deep funk of her first two albums into smoother, more melodic fare that owes more to the crisp arrangements of ‘60s Motown  and horn-spackled Stax, “I Learned the Hard Way” (Daptone) is a master class in soul singing, songwriting and arranging. Jones’ voices veers from an agitated rasp to a vulnerable falsetto, sometimes in the space of a line or two. All the while, she gives the impression of conversing with the listener, whether dispensing a little advice or dishing on a straying lover."
--Greg Kot, Chicago Tribune, April 5, 2010


"Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings are the rarest type of retro/revivalist band-- the type that transcends its devotion to a style of music associated with a distant past. They make soul music in the classic sense, the kind of tracks that might have been laid down in Memphis, Muscle Shoals, Detroit, Philadelphia, or Chicago in the late 1960s and early 70s. But there's more to their sound than a nostalgia trip--it's an affirmation of the validity of working in specific styles, even ones most people stopped exploring decades ago."
-- Joe Tangari, Pitchfork, April 5, 2010

Sharon Jones And The Dap Kings I Learned The Hard Way Track Listing:

1.  The Game Gets Old   
2.  I Learned the Hard Way   
3.  Better Things   
4.  Give It Back   
5.  Money   
6.  The Reason   
7.  Window Shopping   
8.  She Ain't a Child No More   
9.  I'll Still Be True   
10. Without a Heart   
11. If You Call   
12. Mama Don't Like My Man

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The Game Gets Old
2. I Learned the Hard Way
3. Better Things
4. Give It Back
5. Money
6. The Reason
7. Window Shopping
8. She Ain't a Child No More
9. I'll Still Be True
10. Without a Heart
11. If You Call
12. Mama Don't Like My Man

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More