FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Tedeschi Trucks Band - Revelator (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Tedeschi Trucks Band - Revelator

(Vinyl LP)


Tedeschi Trucks Band - Revelator

(Vinyl LP)

Availability:In Stock (3)
Add to Cart
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDT4631
Tedeschi Trucks Band Revelator on 2LP

Husband and Wife Team Get the Blues: Virtuosic Guitarist Joins With Blues Belting Vocalist in Thrilling Creative Partnership

Gritty Rockers, Blues-Soaked Soul Tunes, and Piercing Ballads Reveal Strengths of Contemporary Masters

A Family Affair: Allman Bros., Trucks Band Members Comprise 11-Piece Ensemble That Makes Its Debut Here

Revelator is a dramatic leap forward for both Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks in every respect, from the songwriting and the production to Tedeschi's vocals and Trucks' guitar playing. Their new 11-piece band is an aggregation of talented musicians related by experience, and blood, and clearly adds to the notion of Revelator as a true group album.

Filled with smoky, blues-dipped rockers and heart-stilling ballads that show off, respectively, the gutsier and softer side of Tedeschi's vocal ability, plus a series of emotive, story-telling solos shaped by Trucks' uncanny agility on slide-guitar, Revelator also serves to introduce the couple's new, 11-piece ensemble-Tedeschi Trucks Band.

A dramatic leap forward for two of the music world's most dynamic performers, Revelator is a confident yet unforced triumph offering a cohesive vision: an idyllic, musical world in which the echoes of so many great traditions: Delta blues and Memphis soul, Sixties rock and Seventies funk organically flow together, blending with an entirely original, modern sensibility.

From the raunch-and-drive of "Bound for Glory" and "Learn How to Love", to introspective, mood-setting performances like "Midnight in Harlem" and "Shelter", to the tuneful and uplifting messages of songs like "Don't Let Me Slide" and "Easy Way Out", Revelator offers a marked, feet-on-the-ground notion of modern reality ("These Walls" focuses on the simple idea of day-to-day survival in these harsh times) while marveling in the unasked-for joys that life often delivers (the refrain of "Simple Things" that sings of "life without sorrow, love without pain" could well be the album's motto.)

In addition to the combined weight of Tedeschi and Trucks' equally renowned abilities, Revelator benefits from an impressive circle of talent that the two brought together. Trucks co-produced the album with multi-Grammy-winning engineer Jim Scott. Both Tedeschi and Trucks co-wrote the album's twelve new songs with an impressive list of experienced songwriters, including Jeff Trott, John Leventhal, David Ryan Harris and Sonya Kitchell; Gary Louris and Oliver Wood-of the Jayhawks and the Wood Brothers, respectively; and old friends like guitarists Doyle Bramhall II and Eric Krasno (of Soulive), and band members Mike Mattison, Kofi Burbridge and Oteil Burbridge.

Most notably, Revelator features the newly formed Tedeschi Trucks Band, an eleven-member ensemble overflowing with talent and musical familiarity. Brothers Oteil Burbridge (noted for his years as bassist with the Allman Brothers Band) and Kofi Burbridge (longtime keyboardist/flutist with The Derek Trucks Band) have joined forces with a pair of drummers J. J. Johnson and Tyler Greenwell, trumpeter Maurice Brown, tenor saxophonist Kebbi Williams, trombonist Saunders Sermons, and harmony singers Mark Rivers and Mike Mattison. The fact that this aggregation includes so many musicians related by experience-and blood-clearly adds to the notion of Revelator as a true group album, the product of a musical family.

Tedeschi Trucks Band Revelator Track Listing:

1.  Come See About Me

2.  Don't Let Me Slide
3.  Midnight In Harlem
4.  Bound for Glory
5.  Simple Things
6.  Until You Remember
7.  Ball And Chain
8.  These Walls
9.  Learn How To Love
10. Shrimp and Grits (Interlude)
11. Love Has Something Else To Say
12. Shelter
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Come See About Me
2. Don't Let Me Slide
3. Midnight In Harlem
4. Bound for Glory
5. Simple Things
6. Until You Remember
7. Ball And Chain
8. These Walls
9. Learn How To Love
10. Shrimp and Grits (Interlude)
11. Love Has Something Else To Say
12. Shelter

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More