Bob Dylan - The Original Mono Recordings (180g Vinyl 9LP Box Set)

Price $249.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Bob Dylan - The Original Mono Recordings (180g Vinyl 9LP Box Set)

Bob Dylan - The Original Mono Recordings (180g Vinyl 9LP Box Set)

Price $249.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

Cut from the Original Analog Mono Masters by George Marino at Sterling Sound: Each Disc Comes With Individual Jacket Replete with Original Artwork and Inserts

Includes Deluxe Booklet, 18" x 24" Poster, Rare Photos and Greil Marcus Essay

Bob Dylan’s The Original Mono Recordings is comprised of his first eight albums painstakingly reproduced from their first generation monaural mixes as the artist intended them to be heard: One channel of powerful sound, both direct and immediate. While stereo recordings had been available as early as the mid-1950s, mono was still the predominant, and often preferred, mode of recording and mixing by the top artists of the 1960s. As a result, artists like The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and Bob Dylan devoted their attention to the mono mixes, leaving the stereo mixing process to studio engineers.

As is fitting for a box of this magnitude, The Original Mono Recordings are accompanied by a deluxe booklet, featuring vintage photographs of Bob Dylan and an expansive essay from renowned author and critic, and longtime Dylan aficionado, Greil Marcus. Each disc in the set comes in its own individual jacket which faithfully replicates the original album artwork, complete with labels and stickers that were found on the original 1960s releases.

Cut from the original analog mono masters by the legendary George Marino at Sterling Sound, this set is simply unprecedented, some of the most important and timeless music ever made, now in jaw-dropping sound that rivals what was heard in the studio control room.

"Those that own the hybrid stereo SACDs of some of the albums in this set are still in for a treat. Ditto those that have Sundazed’s mono LPs, which don’t claim the level of detail retrieval or sheer openness on these pressings, which come straight from the masters. Then, of course, there’s the meticulous replication of the labels and inserts, as well as the high-quality jackets, all reproduced with immaculate care. Not to be missed."
--Bob Gendron, TONEAudio, Issue 33

"During most of the ‘60s, mono was the preferred format, and Dylan and his engineers focused most of their energies on getting the mixes just right. That’s especially apparent on the classic “Blonde on Blonde” (1966). Though fans may prefer the sharper separation of the instruments on the stereo mixes, the mono versions get at the heart of Dylan’s rough and tumble sound, with the vocals in the midst of the instrumental fray rather than pushed out in front of it. The rockers especially sound more menacing than ever."
--Greg Kot, Chicago Tribune

Bob Dylan – 1962
1. You're No Good
2. Talkin' New York
3. In My Time of Dyin'
4. Man Of Constant Sorrow
5. Fixin' To Die
6. Pretty Peggy-O
7. Highway 51 Blues
8. Gospel Plow
9. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down
10. House Of the Risin' Sun
11. Freight Train Blues
12. Song To Woody
13. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean

The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan – 1963
1. Blowin' in the Wind
2. Girl of the North Country
3. Masters of War
4. Down the Highway
5. Bob Dylan's Blues
6. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
7. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
8. Bob Dylan's Dream
9. Oxford Town
10. Talkin' World War III Blues
11. Corrina, Corrina
12. Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance
13. I Shall Be Free 

The Times They Are A-Changin’ – 1964
1. The Times They Are A-Changin’
2. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
3. With God On Our Side
4. One Too Many Mornings
5. North Country Blues
6. Only A Pawn In Their Game
7. Boots Of Spanish Leather
8. When The Ship Comes In
9. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
10. Restless Farewell 

Another Side Of Bob Dylan – 1964
1. All I Really Want To Do
2. Black Crow Blues
3. Spanish Harlem Incident
4. Chimes Of Freedom
5. I Shall Be Free—No. 10
6. To Ramona
7. Motorpsycho Nitemare
8. My Back Pages
9. I Don’t Believe You
10. Ballad In Plain D
11. It Ain’t Me Babe

Bringing It All Back Home – 1965
1. Subterranean Homesick Blues
2. She Belongs To Me
3. Maggie’s Farm
4. Love Minus Zero/No Limit
5. Outlaw Blues
6. On The Road Again
7. Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream
8. Mr. Tambourine Man
9. Gates Of Eden
10. It’s Alright Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
11. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue

Highway 61 Revisited – 1965
1. Like A Rolling Stone
2. Tombstone Blues
3. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
4. From A Buick 6
5. Ballad Of A Thin Man
6. Queen Jane Approximately
7. Highway 61 Revisited
8. Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues
9. Desolation Row

Blonde on Blonde (2LP) – 1966
1. Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35
2. Pledging My Time
3. Visions Of Johanna
4. One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)
5. I Want You
6. Memphis Blues Again
7. Leopard-skin Pill-box Hat
8. Just Like A Woman
9. Most Likely You Go Your Way And I’ll Go Mine
10. Temporary Like Achilles
11. Absolutely Sweet Marie
12. 4th Time Around
13. Obviously 5 Believers
14. Sad Eyed Lady Of The Lowlands

John Wesley Harding – 1967
1. John Wesley Harding
2. As I Went Out One Morning
3. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
4. All Along The Watchtower
5. The Ballad Of Frankie Lee And Judas Priest
6. Drifter’s Escape
7. Dear Landlord
8. I Am A Lonesome Hobo
9. I Pity The Poor Immigrant
10. The Wicked Messenger
11. Down Along The Cove
12. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought