Brand: Mobile Fidelity

John Lennon - Live Peace In Toronto (Gold CD)

Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
California customers: Please click here for
your Proposition 65 warning.
John Lennon - Live Peace In Toronto (Gold CD)

John Lennon - Live Peace In Toronto (Gold CD)


John Lennon Live Peace in Toronto on Numbered-Edition 24K Gold CD from Mobile Fidelity: Out of Print

On September 13, 1969, John Lennon stepped up onto the stage in front of 20,000 grateful fans. This was his first large-scale performance in over 4 years. And the occasion marked the world’s first look at John and Yoko’s Plastic Ono Band. To make this show even more spectacular, John brought along Eric Clapton and his blistering guitar for the show! And what a memorable concert.

The band starts off the show with three incredible rock and roll covers: “Blue Suede Shoes,” “Money,” and “Dizzy Miss Lizzy.” Lennon is in great voice throughout, and hearing him trade licks and solos with Clapton is quite priceless. Next up is a killer performance of the Lennon/McCartney song “Yer Blues” from The White Album. You can really feel Lennon's pain when he’s singing “Yea…I’m lonely, want to die.” Then he introduces a magnificent new song, “Cold Turkey,” the world premier. Next up, Lennon speaks, announcing, “This is what we came for…really,” and launches into “Give Peace a Chance.” But the party is only starting. 

“Now Yoko is gonna do her thing…ALL OVER YOU!” This is when things get a little interesting. Two cuts of Yoko’s improvisational “singing” filled with screams, chants, and cries for peace. Precious insight into the world’s perspective on John and Yoko’s relationship, all caught on tape. It’s also been said that this concert helped to solidify John’s decision to definitely leave the Beatles behind him.

More intrigue: This is the only version of Lennon's first solo record available today, and Mobile Fidelity has done an incredible job remastering the album. Live Peace comes with a 30-page booklet with tons of great photos and a replica of the original calendar. Do not miss this slice of history!

1. Blue Suede Shoes
2. Money
3. Dizzy Miss Lizzie
4. Yer Blues
5. Cold Turkey
6. Give Peace a Chance
7. Don't Worry Kyoko (Mummy's Only Looking for Her Hand in the Snow)
8. John, John (Let's Hope for Peace)