Brand: Analogue Productions

Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (Hybrid Stereo SACD) * * *

Price $34.99
This product is not eligible for further discounts.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (Hybrid Stereo SACD) * * *

Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (Hybrid Stereo SACD) * * *

Price $34.99
This product is not eligible for further discounts.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

Hybrid Stereo SACD Mastered Direct to DSD from the Original Master Tape by Bernie Grundman

Led by the songwriting and virtuoso musical duo of Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, Steely Dan released an extraordinary run of seven albums on ABC Records and MCA Records from 1972 through 1980. Filled with topline musicianship, clever and subversive wordplay, ironic humor, genius arrangements, and pop hits that outshone the Top 40 of its day, their records, which were as sophisticated and cerebral as they were inscrutable, were stylistically diverse, melding their love of jazz with rock, blues, and impeccable pop songcraft.

Now at long last, Steely Dan's classic ABC and MCA Records catalog will return to vinyl with an extensive yearlong reissue program of the band's first seven records, which is being personally overseen by founding member Donald Fagen. The LPs, most of which haven't been widely available since their original release, will be available on 33 1/3 RPM 180-gram black vinyl via Geffen/UMe, and as a premium 45 RPM version on Ultra High-Quality Vinyl (UHQR) from Analogue Productions. AP will also release this series of titles on Super Audio CD. All albums are being meticulously remastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analog tapes except for Aja, which will be mastered from an analog, non-EQ'd, tape copy, and Gaucho, which will be sourced from a 1980 analog tape copy originally EQ'd by Bob Ludwig. There's no evidence the original tapes containing the flat mixes of Aja and Gaucho were delivered to the record label and it's presumed the tapes no longer exist. 

Produced by longtime collaborator Gary Katz and anchored by the massive hit single "Rikki Don't Lose That Number" and fellow standouts "Any Major Dude Will Tell You" and the title cut, Steely Dan's jazzy, gold-selling third album Pretzel Logic (1974) saw the duo regain the commercial footing of their debut with a patented amalgam of sonic perfection, sinuous musicality, and subversive storytelling. Rolling Stone praised the album, calling Steely Dan the "most improbable hit-singles band to emerge in ages."

  • Hybrid Stereo SACD from Analogue Productions
  • Mastered direct to DSD from the original master tape by Bernie Grundman
  • Plays on all CD and SACD players
Read More
  1. Rikki Don't Lose That Number
  2. Night By Night
  3. Any Major Dude Will Tell You
  4. Barrytown
  5. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  6. Parker's Band
  7. Through With Buzz
  8. Pretzel Logic
  9. With A Gun
  10. Charlie Freak
  11. Monkey In Your Soul
Customers Also Bought