Irma Thomas - After the Rain (180g Vinyl 2LP)

Price $37.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Irma Thomas - After the Rain (180g Vinyl 2LP)

Irma Thomas - After the Rain (180g Vinyl 2LP)

Price $37.99
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

Grammy-Winning 2006 Album's First Time On Vinyl; Remixed and Remastered 180g 2LP-Set with Gatefold Packaging

There are many New Orleans voices that tell you immediately where they are from. Louis Armstrong's scat improvisations, Louis Prima's swagger, Aaron Neville's quivering falsetto and Mahalia Jackson's majestic spirituality are all informed by the relaxed cadence of New Orleans speech, heard as neighbors greet one another on the street, or as friends linger in conversations that go on longer than they otherwise might if they were not reveling so in the music of talking. But no voice more beautifully reflects the warmth and easy-going soul of the city than that of Irma Thomas, the Soul Queen of New Orleans.

Remixed and remastered and pressed on gatefold 180g vinyl 2LP for the first time courtesy of Craft Recordings, 2006's After The Rain was recorded at rural Dockside Studio in Maurice, Louisiana only months after Hurricane Katrina. A majority of the songs were chosen prior to the hurricane, but the album's prophetic themes offer a message of hope. After the Rain won Irma her first Grammy Award (Best Contemporary Blues Album) after nearly fifty years in the business.

On After the Rain, Thomas brings her rich and resonant vocals to a surprisingly varied repertoire that spans 75 years of American songwriting, the common thread being Irma's soulful and direct-from-the-heart delivery. Spare and often acoustic instrumental settings by an all-star Louisiana band allow Irma's vocals to shine through on each song. After the Rain is a remarkable declaration of resilience, presenting Irma Thomas at her very best!

• 180g vinyl 2LP pressing from Craft Recordings
• Marks Grammy-winning album's first time on the format
• Remixed and remastered audio
• Housed in gatefold jacket packaging

  1. In The Middle Of It All
  2. Flowers
  3. I Count The Tears
  4. Make Me A Pallet On Your Floor
  5. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free
  6. If You Knew How Much
  7. Another Man Done Gone
  1. Till I Can't Take It Anymore
  2. These Honey Dos
  3. Another Lonely Heart
  4. Soul Of A Man
  5. Stone Survivor
  6. Shelter In The Rain
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct
Customers Also Bought