Brand: Mobile Fidelity

Keb' Mo' - Keb' Mo' (Numbered Edition 180G Vinyl LP)

Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
California customers: Please click here for
your Proposition 65 warning.
Keb' Mo' - Keb' Mo' (Numbered Edition 180G Vinyl LP)

Keb' Mo' - Keb' Mo' (Numbered Edition 180G Vinyl LP)


1994 Self-Titled Major-Label Debut Is a Folk-Blues Classic: Keb' Mo' Filled with National Steel Guitar Playing, Harmonica Solos, and Soulful Strumming

Sourced from the Original Master Tapes: Mobile Fidelity's 180g 33RPM LP Features Gorgeous Vocal Inflections, Astonishing Acoustic Guitar Lines Possess Incredible Detail

1/2" / 15 IPS / Dolby SR to DSD 64 to analog console to lathe

In an age where most contemporary bluesmen strive to mimic the past and pattern their music after the greats, Keb' Mo' is content to be himself. Original, charismatic, and immensely gifted, the guitarist/vocalist (born Kevin Moore) brings country blues in the late 20th century on his stunning self-titled Epic debut, which quickly climbed the charts and turned the former backing instrumentalist into a household name. Replete with gritty textures, close-up vocals, and resplendent acoustics, Mobile Fidelity’s scintillating version of this 1994 set finally possesses the fidelity that brings Mo’s Delta strains out of the backwoods and onto a lively back porch.

Sourced from the original tapes, this numbered-edition 180g LP represents the very first time that Mo’s watershed album has been given a much-needed sonic facelift. Gone are the hazes that obscured his singing, artificial ceilings that blunted the highs, and digital fog that interfered with the multitude of illuminating tones, details, and notes. What’s revealed is startling intimacy and soothing emotion, Mo’s gorgeous vocal timbres and inflections given equal space with his guitar, harmonica, and pace. Finally, a great-sounding contemporary blues record that doesn’t resort to derivative recycling and bland revivalism.

The son of Southern parents, Mo' channels his heritage via a batch of superb folksy songs that relax, refresh, and regale. While he’s since traveled in a more commercialized pop-oriented direction, Mo’s initial salvo is nothing but raw, pure blues played with unbridled passion, tremendous conviction, and what is best deemed the essence of heart and soul. Keb' Mo' engages with a compelling mix of tradition and modernity, the headliner refraining from any attempt at assuming an artificial personality and instead basing his reputation on quality songs. As such, Mo’s material resonates with deep, mellow vibes and extraordinary National steel guitar work, which complements his fluid, acoustic finger-picking and soulful strumming.

Mo' occasionally teams with an ensemble. But this record is mostly all about the basics: guitar, voice, and harmonica. Tunes such as “Victims of Comfort” and “Angelina” testify on behalf of his phenomenal country-blues songwriting; his covers of Robert Johnson’s “Come On In My Kitchen” and “Kindhearted Woman Blues” speak to his reverence for the past. Shuffles, ballads, dance songs—Mo nails them all.

Keb' Mo' remains one of the finest blues albums made in the post-Stevie Ray Vaughan era. Don’t miss this American gem that so many have since tried to copy. 

1. "Every Morning" - 3:00
2. "Tell Everybody I Know" - 3:10
3. "Love Blues" - 3:02
4. "Victims of Comfort" - 3:21
5. "Angelina" - 3:47
6. "Anybody Seen My Girl?" - 2:56
7. "She Just Wants to Dance" - 3:29
8. "Am I Wrong?" - 2:19
9. "Come on in My Kitchen" - 4:09 (Robert Johnson)
10. "Dirty, Low Down and Bad" - 3:08
11. "Don't Try to Explain" - 3:58
12. "Kindhearted Woman Blues" - 3:29 (Johnson)
13. "City Boy" - 4:05
Related Videos
Review: MoFi Electronics' Turntable Trio - UltraDeck, StudioDeck and Foundation
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct