Brand: Mobile Fidelity

Natalie Merchant - Tigerlily (180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP)

Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
California customers: Please click here for
your Proposition 65 warning.
Natalie Merchant - Tigerlily (180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP)

Natalie Merchant - Tigerlily (180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP)


Natalie Merchant Makes a Name for Herself on Tigerlily: Vocal Tour de Force Includes Three Massive Hits, Features Moody Atmospherics

Mastered from the Original Master Tapes: Mobile Fidelity's 180g 45RPM 2LP Set of 1995 Album Plays with Astounding Sonics and Detail

1/2" / 15 IPS / Dolby SR analog master to DSD 64 to analog console to lathe

The 10,000 Maniacs were at their peak when group founder and scintillating vocalist Natalie Merchant announced that she was leaving the band to pursue a solo career. It took her four months to record Tigerlily, a gorgeously detailed folk-pop debut that became a permanent fixture on the album charts for a year after its 1995 release.

The five-times platinum set spawned three giant hits—“Wonder,” “Carnival,” and the haunting “Jealousy”—that simultaneously crossed over to the pop, adult-contemporary, and mainstream singles charts. It’s easy to understand why. On Tigerlily, Merchant turns in a vocal performance for the ages, spinning majestic webs of mellow atmosphere woven with rhythmic textures and low-key movements. This is a mood masterpiece.

Mastered from the original analog tapes, Mobile Fidelity’s collectible 180g 45RPM 2LP version of Tigerlily mines the critical nuances and delicate tones from this intimate gem. Merchant’s beautiful voice—her precious coos, soulful inflections, and whisper-soft purrs harken back to the Jazz Era—is presented with an up-close clarity and full-bodied richness that enhance the album’s deeply emotional feel.

Merchant uses volume and pitch as a painter utilizes shades on a canvas. Subtle and tender, her phrasing and crescendos underscore the personal nature of the lyrics. Merchant sings about mature topics most songwriters lack the courage to explore, probing the painful loss of a longtime partner on “Beloved Wife,” actor River Phoenix’s tragic death on “River,” and life-altering myths on “San Andreas Fault.”

The vocalist’s bracing conviction is matched by small-scale acoustic frameworks that don’t let a note go to waste. Mobile Fidelity’s engineers worked to make sure you hear all of them. Aligned on a wide soundstage, the discerning mix of Hammond organs, pianos, chamber percussion, and bluesy guitars come across with their understated intentions intact. Balances are superb, dynamics are grand. There is no better way to experience and enjoy the rich sonic fabrics on this album. The results will leave you hypnotized.

1. San Andreas Fault 3:57
2. Wonder 4:26
3. Beloved Wife 5:03
1. River 5:32
2. Carnival 5:59
1. I May Know The Word 8:07
2. The Letter 2:12
3. Cowboy Romance 4:39
1. Jealousy 2:41
2. Where I Go 3:59
3. Seven Years 5:31

Related Videos
Review: MoFi Electronics' Turntable Trio - UltraDeck, StudioDeck and Foundation
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct